20:30 @ the Bimhuis

Eric Boeren 4tet

• Eric Boeren cornet; Michael Moore alto sax, clarinet; Wilbert de Joode double bass; Han Bennink drums

The Eric Boeren 4tet is a high-water mark for the Doek collective. Originally inspired by the classic quartets of Ornette Coleman, it has grown over the years to embrace more fully Boeren’s own vision. Four masterful improvisers brilliantly blend composition with improvisation.

Ab Baars Trio

• Ab Baars tenor sax; Wilbert de Joode double bass; Martin van Duynhoven drums

Another pinnacle of Dutch improvised music, the Ab Baars Trio has been around for nearly 30 years. Far more than just another sax, bass and drums trio, the group creates some of the most strikingly original music of any “jazz” trio you’ll find. While it is led by Ab Baars, there is an incredible freedom given all three members. which brings out the best in everyone. It makes perfect sense that Wilbert de Joode would choose this group for “This is Our Music”.

The Coimbra Project

• John Dikeman tenor sax; Luis Vicente trumpet; Alexander Hawkins piano; Hugo Antunes double bass; Mark Sanders drums

In 2017, John Dikeman, Luis Vicente and Hugo Antunes were given a residency in Coimbra, PT at the venue Salão Brazil. With 4 days to record, rehearse and present concerts on 2 evenings, they had a chance to put together this ensemble. They decided to invite two exemplary musicians from the British scene. Alexander Hawkins, no stranger to the Bimhuis, is one of the leading lights of young European improvisers. For the original residency Roger Turner was the drummer, but coldn’t make it due to a previous engagement. So the wonderful Mark Sanders has been enlisted to complete the group for the festival. Together, this ensemble represents everything John Dikeman wants in improvising musicians: sensitivity, spontaneity, deep listening, and an absolute willingness to tear it up.


At the door: €18,-
Students / Stadspas / CJP: €15,-